Meet the people who provide expert guidance and strategic planning for the Center.

Oversight Committee

Virginia C. Broudy, MD

Chair, Center Oversight Committee
Interim Chair, Department of Medicine

Charles E. Alpers, MD

Interim Chair, Pathology
Email: alp@uw.edu

Lisa Brandenburg

Chief Health System Officer
Email: lisab@uw.edu

Mike Crowder, MD, PhD

Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
Email: cmc53@uw.edu

Timothy H. Dellit, MD

Chief Medical Officer, UW Medicine
President, UW Physicians

David Reed Flum, MD, MPH

Associate Chief Medical Officer, UW Medicine

Barbara Goff, MD

Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Email: bgoff@uw.edu

Richard Goss, MD, MPH

Medical Director, Harborview Medical Center
Email: rgoss@uw.edu

Marcia Rhodes

Director, Health Sciences & UW Medicine Risk Management
Manager, UW Medicine CQIP

Dushyant Sahani, MD

Chair, Department of Radiology

Thomas O. Staiger, MD

Medical Director, UW Medical Center

Susan A. Stern, MD

Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Email: sstern@uw.edu

Peter Tarczy-Hornoch, MD

Chair, Biomedical Informatics and Medical Education
Email: pth@uw.edu

Jurgen Unutzer, MD, MPH, MA

Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Douglas Wood, MD

Chair, Department of Surgery
Email: dewood@uw.edu

Internal Advisory Committee

mika sinanan headshot

Mika Sinanan, MD, PhD

Chair, Center Internal Advisory Committee
Special Senior Advisor
Professor, Department of Surgery
Email: mssurg@uw.edu

Lucia Austin, RN, MS, JD

Assistant Administrator, Quality Improvement

Dena Brownstein, MD

Medical Director, Patient Safety, Seattle Children's Hospital

Frederick Chen, MD, MPH

Chief of Family Medicine, Harborview Medical Center
Email: fchen@uw.edu

Julie B. Duncan

Director, Center for Clinical Excellence
Email: jbd@uw.edu

Christopher W. Head, MBA

Administrator, PI/Transformation of Care, UW Medicine
Email: headc@uw.edu

Byron Joyner, MD

Vice Dean, Graduate Medical Education

Christopher Kim, MD, MBA

Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
Associate Medical Director, Quality and Safety Medical Director, Center for Clinical Excellence

Cindy Sayre, PhD, RN

Chief Nursing Officer, UW Medical Center

Shabir Somani

Chief Pharmacy Officer, UW Medicine
Email: somani@uw.edu

Robert Sweet, MD

Executive Director of WISH

Brenda Zierler, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems